When the Critics come to Town

Keeping perspective through the hate

Jordan Fraser
6 min readJun 8, 2019

I’m generally someone that has difficulty seeing things within the realm of perspective.

Photo by Paola Chaaya on Unsplash

It’s difficult for me to read negative feedback online and not go into an immediate spiral.
This is partially because the person giving me the critique isn’t with me in person, providing no ability for me to reply.
But also because in my mind if someone has taken the time to put finger to keyboard and actually make the effort to tell me how terrible I am, surely they must be right.

IRL Critique

If someone feels strongly enough to come and talk with me in person about how unhappy they are with a service or product I’ve provided, I would never fall into a spiral.

I’ve dealt with customer complaints many times in person, granted they weren’t complaining about me but the cruise ship they were vacationing and I was working on.
But a few times I’ve been given critique on how I’ve performed in a show or how I’ve taught a class, and I’ve never felt too badly after the discussion.

I guess the catalyst that keeps my emotions from running away with my body is the fact that its a conversation.
I’m able to give reason as to why I made the…

--

--