Successfully Taking Your Classroom Online For ‘Social Distancing’ Reasons

There’s a right way to make the transition smooth and seamless

Jordan Fraser
6 min readMar 18, 2020
Photo by Feliphe Schiarolli on Unsplash

As a few of you have hopefully noticed, I’ve not been my usual productive self on the platform lately.
This is because I’ve been working ‘round the clock writing lesson plans for the upcoming semester of new online courses I’ll be teaching.

I’ve already taught three online courses so far this year, but many more are needed as schools remain closed, and parents get more desperate for their kids to be more frequently educated.

Originally this was just a problem unique to China, but over the last week, I’ve been getting calls from friends all over the world who are just now entering the same situation.

The teachers most vulnerable to the current climate are the ones who teach in after-school centres that suddenly don’t have a business. Anyone teaching drama, dance, or running clubs like mathletes or debate are about to get a lot more desperate, and many of them don’t know where to turn.

Luckily for them, I’ve been teaching Chinese kids online for two months. I’ve made all the mistakes, and now I can provide guidance to the teachers around the world who are only just getting started.

--

--