Writers like Roz are Saving the World

And inspiring the next generation

Jordan Fraser
4 min readJust now

--

Photo by Geert Pieters on Unsplash

We’ve reached the midpoint of our debate class and the gaggle of Chinese tweens for which I’m responsible have just finished a rousing debate. “All right, all right” I say with a chuckle as the debate winners finish good-naturedly taunting those they’ve defeated. I make a familiar gesture and they all turn the page of their workbooks to a fresh story written by Roz Warren, Writing Coach. The kids break a familiar smile as they start reading, they know they’re in for a good time. Roz has become legendary in this part of Shanghai, well known by the youngsters that frequent my classes.

Each semester I put together workbooks for my debate class, workbooks that always include no less than three of the latest stories written by the legendary librarian herself. As a debate teacher in Shanghai, I’m always on the hunt for excellent literature to introduce my kids to, and since English isn’t their primary language, I have the privilege of introducing them to the greats. Thanks to them having an entirely different selection of authors available to them during childhood, I look like a genius when I introduce them to Roald Dahl and Enid Blyton. I’m the trendsetter for these youngsters who are dipping their first toes into the world of English literature, and it’s a job made all the easier thanks to writers like…

--

--