After 25 Years, Judge Judy is Cancelled

But a replacement program is on the way

Jordan Fraser
4 min readMar 4, 2020
Photo: CBS

It feels impossible that the show I grew up watching during sick days home from school could actually be going off the air.

What feels more impossible is that I’m 30 years old and it’s still on the air.

Judge Judy was the first example I ever had of idiots being yelled at by someone far smarter and in a position of absolute control.

I’d seen plenty of yelling in my young life, but Judge Judy provided the ultimate example of people being completely destroyed for being stupid. I was in love with the show from the very first episode.

But all good things must eventually come to an end, and after 25 years, it’s time for Judge Judy to leave the CBS set and plan the next step in her career.

Photo: Greg Rakozy via Unsplash

“Umm is not an answer!”

After gaining national attention because of a 1993 Los Angeles Times article reporting on her tough judging style, Judge Judith Sheindlin was on her way to the top.
She wrote a book appropriately titled ‘Don’t Pee On My Leg and Tell Me It’s Raining’ and was approached by…

--

--